No, WhatsApp Didn’t Secretly Change Your Privacy Settings

sponsored by

Circulating on social media and of course in WhatsApp, is a viral warning about yet another issue with WhatsApp privacy settings. Following on from the furore around the new WhatsApp privacy update which led me to delete the app completely, fresh concerns have surfaced. However, this new concern actually relates to a change the messaging platform made back in 2019. Still, you should change this setting. Here’s what you need to know.

What Setting Has Changed In WhatsApp?

Back in 2019, WhatsApp changed a privacy setting which allowed people not in you contact list to add you to groups. In a blog post, WhatsApp stated that these changes were to allow “family, friends, co-workers, classmates” connect easier after users “asked for more control over their experience”. Personally, I don’t buy that for a second but that’s irrelevant.

The change effectively means you could be added to groups where you know no-one by people you don’t know.

Why Is This Dangerous?

The problem with this relates to things like the Facebook leak currently being investigated by the DPC. When your phone number is publicly available, anyone can add you to groups because of this setting.

Kindly sponsored by
Anker SOLIX XE

In the UK, both the Upton and Cheshire Police took to social media to highlight this change and the dangers, the latter saying “WhatsApp has changed its group settings to include ‘everyone’ by default so people you don’t know can add you to a group without your knowing. These people may include scam messages, loan sharks, etc”.

We need to be careful of scaremongering here. This isn’t a new feature to take advantage of your data. Instead, it’s a change that’s been noticed and looked at through the new lens of WhatsApp coming under fresh scrutiny.

Brought to you by
Anker SOLIX XE

For the sake of your privacy, regardless of when this change happened, you should change your privacy settings and here’s how.

How To Update Your WhatsApp Group Privacy SettingsGo to WhatsApp

Image courtesy of Android Authority
  • Go into Settings
  • Go to Account
  • Go to Privacy
  • Go to Groups
  • Change from (Everyone) to (My Contacts)

Got a question? Slide into our DMs on Twitter and we’ll be glad to help.

Brought to you by
Anker SOLIX XE

Written by

Marty
Martyhttps://muckrack.com/marty-goosed
Founding Editor of Goosed, Marty is a massive fan of tech making life easier. You'll often find him testing something new, brewing beer or finding some new foodie spots in Dublin, Ireland. - Find me on Bluesky

Sponsored by

Related articles

Google releases tool to make identifying AI images easier

Google has opened its SynthID Detector for checking AI-generated...

GoMo reacts to Lidl Connect

GoMo appears to be switching on 5G for customers...

Best SIM only deals in Ireland right now

Updated 6 October 2026 The people of Ireland are cute...

How to check if your phone supports eSIM

There are now two times in your life where...

Under 18 ban on electric scooter usage in Ireland comes into effect

From today, Friday 2 October, anyone under 18 is...

Brought to you by

Anker SOLIX XE

Get more Goosed

Discussion